Saad Nasim rescues Ghani Glass; WAPDA take winning start

By our correspondent
KARACHI: The first round of President’s Trophy Grade-I came to an end with WAPDA and SBP winning their games while the fixture between Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited and Ghani Glass ended in a draw. Saad Nasim smashed an unbeaten hundred to save the game for Ghani Glass while Asif Afridi struck regularly to help WAPDA reap triumph. The second round of the tournament will kick off on 22 December across three venues in Karachi.

SNGPL vs Ghani Glass at National Bank Stadium, Karachi

Ghani Glass managed to eke out a draw against Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL) by batting out the whole day and only losing four wickets. In pursuit of 408, Ghani Glass managed 300-6 in 96 overs. Continuing from their overnight score of 38-2, Kashif Ali (59, 115b, 10x4s) and Tayyab Tahir (60, 141b, 7x4s) scored fighting half-centuries. Skipper Moeez Ghani was dismissed for a duck leaving Ghani Glass 168-5. At this point, Saad Nasim and Mohammad Irfan (55, 118b, 5x4s, 1×6) put on a sixth-wicket partnership of 124 runs to put SNGPL on the back foot. Saad (105 not out, 173b, 9x4s, 4x6s) scored an unbeaten hundred to save the game for his team.

Mohammad Ali managed four wickets while Mehran Mumtaz and Mubasir Khan managed one wicket each. Other SNGPL bowlers remained wicketless. SNGPL will face Pakistan Television (PTV) at UBL Sports Complex while Ghani Glass will face Khan Research Laboratories (KRL) at SBP Sports Complex in the second round of the President’s Trophy.

KRL vs WAPDA at UBL Sports Complex, Karachi

Khan Research Laboratories (KRL) resumed from their overnight score of 39-1, whilst in pursuit of 286 to win. Water and Power Development Authority (WAPDA) took the remaining nine wickets in 61.3 overs. Only Sarmad Bhatti (60, 152b, 6x4s) and Ali Zaryab (37, 65b, 4x4s) managed to put up some resistance but then KRL lost six wickets for 69 runs, awarding WAPDA a win by 48 runs.

Asif Afridi bagged four wickets. Naqeeb Masood and Tahir Hussain picked up two wickets each. Captain Iftikhar Ahmed and Hassan Abid Kiyani dismissed one batter each.

Scores in brief:

Match drawn between SNGPL and Ghani Glass at National Bank Stadium, Karachi

SNGPL 371-7, 80 overs (Abid Ali 90, Asad Shafiq 81, Sahibzada Farhan 67, Omair Bin Yousuf 56; Mohammad Rameez Jnr 6-130, Ahad Malik 1-52) and 290-7 (declared), 67.3 overs (Azhar Ali 109, Haseebullah 102 not out; Mohammad Rameez Jnr 3-97, Musa Khan 1-26, Mohamamd Irfan 1-27, Moeez Ghani 1-40, Ghulam Mudassar 1-41)

Ghani Glass 253 all out, 75.2 overs (Tayyab Tahir 75, Shahbaz Javed 74, Mohammad Rameez Jnr 24; Mehran Mumtaz 3-88, Shahnawaz Dahani 2-23, Bilawal Bhatti 2-47, Mohammad Ali 2-60) and 300-6, 96 over (Saad Nasim 105 not out, Tayyab Tahir 60, Kashif Ali 59; Mohammad Ali 4-86, Mubasir Khan 1-35, Mehran Mumtaz 1-71)

SBP beat PTV by 10 wickets at SBP Sports, Karachi

PTV 66 all out, 26.2 overs (Uzair Mumtaz 21, Hamayun Altaf 11; Mohammad Abbas 6-19, Sameen Gul 3-18, Mohammad Ilyas 1-27) and 339 all out, 81.3 overs (Hasan Mohsin 96, Hasan Nawaz 83, Taimur Khan 62; Mohammad Abbas 4-103, Mohammad Ilyas 3-73, Kashif Bhatti 2-78, Sameen Gul 1-79)

SBP 358-7, 80 overs (Zain Abbas 126, Mohammad Irfan Khan 82 not out, Umar Amin 70; Mohammad Sadaqat 3-85, Jahandad Khan 2-93, Adil Naz 1-92) and 48-0, 6.1 overs (Rizwan Hussain 24 not out, Zain Abbas 23 not out)

WAPDA beat KRL by 48 runs at UBL Sports Complex, Karachi

WAPDA 322-6, 80 overs (Iftikhar Ahmed 155, Mohammad Saleem 117; Mohammad Imran 3-75, Kashif Ali 1-45, Mohammad Amir Khan 1-61, Shayan Sheikh 1-78) and 238 all out, 90.2 overs (Iftikhar Ahmed 88, Umar Akmal 75; Shayan Sheikh 3-55, Sharoon Siraj 2-44, Kashif Ali 2-45, Mohammad Imran 2-49, Mohammad Amir Khan 1-40)

KRL 274-8, 80 overs (Ali Zaryab 71, Maaz Sadaqat 52 not out; Asif Afridi 4-81, Naqeeb Masood 3-62, Tahir Hussain 1-45) and 238 all out, 71.3 overs (Sarmad Bhatti 60, Abdul Faseeh 43; Asif Afridi 4-64, Tahir Hussain 2-43, Naqeeb Masood 2-69, Hassan Abid Kiyani 1-3, Iftikhar Ahmed 1-35)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *