Karachi Blues crush DM Jamali in Hanif Mohammad Trophy

By our correspondent
ISLAMABAD: The third round of Hanif Mohammad Trophy (non-first-class) concluded today.

Larkana v AJK (Mirpur Cricket Stadium)

Larkana started the day at 41 for four. Owing to Mohsin Raza’s knock of 72 runs and contributions by Ishfaque Ahmed and Imtiaz Leghari, the side got to 192 runs.

Rohaan Qadri’s four-wicket-haul and three wickets each by Faizan Saleem and Basit Ali helped AJK keep Larkana in check.

AJK lost a wicket on the first ball of the innings. However, it did not trouble the side significantly as they went on to score 83 runs together before the second wicket fell.

They ended the day at 103 for the loss of four wickets.

Sialkot v Quetta (Muzaffarabad Cricket Stadium)

Quetta, having lost both Hazrat Wali and Abdul Wahid Bangalzai the previous day, were in a hard spot at the start of the day; 87 for three, trailing by 418 runs.

The side could not sustain any solid partnerships for a significant period, as more wickets fell as the day progressed. Sialkot bowlers, particularly Shoaib Akhtar who returned with four wickets, troubled the Quetta side significantly. They were bowled out for 258, after which the follow-on was enforced.

Quetta’s second batting innings had a significantly better start; both the openers registered half-centuries. They ended the day 127 for two, trailing by 120 runs.

Karachi Blues v DM Jamali (Rahim Yar Khan Cricket Stadium)

Karachi Blues started the day at 117 for three, batting for the second time in the game. An unbeaten half-century by Saifullah Bangash, a 48 by Hassan Mohsin and a 41 by Kashif Ali helped the side reach 261 before they declared.

DM Jamali’s abysmal run with the bat continued in their second batting innings. None of the batters, aside from Abid Ali Mengal, took to the crease long enough to get to double-digits. The highest score of the innings came from Tariq Jameel’s bat who scored 26 runs.

Saqib, who returned with five wickets, troubled the opposition greatly. He was complemented by Ashiq Ali, who had three wickets.

DM Jamali was bowled out for just 89 runs. Karachi Blues won by a mammoth margin of 313 runs.

Bahawalpur v Abbottabad (Multan Cricket Stadium)

Bahawalpur started the day at 42 for two, batting for the second time. Aside from losing Husnain Majid at the start of the day, Bahawalpur has a solid day with the bat.

A sturdy partnership between Aun Shahzad and Mohammad Ammar, that went on for 188 runs, ensured that the side remained in control of the game. Although Aun lost his wicket, Ammar ended up with an unbeaten century by the end of the day.

Bahawalpur ended the day at 251 at the expense of four wickets.

Scores in brief

Larkana v AJK (Mirpur Cricket Stadium)

Larkana: 192 all out 67.5 overs (Mohsin Raza 72, Ishfaque Ahmed 34; Rohaan Qadri 4-52, Basit Ali 3-35, Faizan Saleem 3-37)

AJK: 103-4 in 33 overs (Hasnain Shamir 52, Raja Farhan Khan 36; Faraz Aziz 3-3)

Sialkot v Quetta (Muzaffarabad Cricket Stadium)

Sialkot: 505-5 (dec) in 159.4 overs (Mohsin Riaz 142, Haris Sohail 105*; Jalat Khan 2-142)

Quetta: 258 all out in 84.1 overs (Mohammad Idrees 42*, Hazrat Wali 42; Shoaib Akhtar 4-45, Bilal Asif 3-103) and 127-2 in 23.4 overs (Mohammad Ibrahim Snr 60, Abdul Wahid Bangalzai 51; Bilal Asif 1-25, Usman Khalid 1-38)

Karachi Blues v DM Jamali (Rahim Yar Khan Cricket Stadium)

Karachi Blues beat DM Jamali by 358 runs

Karachi Blues: 303 all out in 94.1 overs (Saifullah Bangash 73, Saqib 56; Salim Mal 3-65, Tariq Jameel 2-29, Sajjad Ahmed 2-85) and 261-6 (dec) in 59.5 overs (Saifullah Bangash 61*, Hassan Mohsin 48; Salim Mal 2-34, Mohammad Shahid 2-39, Aftab Ahmed 2-54)

DM Jamali: 117 all out in 53.1 overs (Nasir Khan 23, Mohammad Shahid 23; Saqib 3-26, Aarish Ali Khan 3-30) and 89 all out in 33.1 overs (Tariq Jameel 26; Saqib 5-37, Ashiq Ali 3-23)

Bahawalpur v Abbottabad (Multan Cricket Stadium)

Bahawalpur: 218 all out in 67.1 overs (Mohammad Umair 36, Faizan Zafar 31; Shahhab 5-63) and 42-2 in 19 overs (Ibrar Amin 32; Fayyaz Khan 1-8) and 251-4 in 89 overs (Mohammad Ammar 106*, Aun Shehzad 86; Fayyaz Khan 1-27, Shahhab 1-53, Aitizaz Habib Khan 1-56)

Abbottabad: 253 all out in 89.1 overs (Afaq Ahmed 108, Ahmed Khan 34; Shayan Khalil 3-46)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *