Spinners, Tayyab power Kings to a huge win

By our correspondent

KARACHI: Spinners bared their fangs while Tayyab Tahir made an impressive PSL debut as Karachi Kings kept alive when they broke the golden run of Multan Sultans by inflicting a crushing 66-run defeat on them in their crucial game of the HBL PSL 8 here at the National Stadium on Sunday.

Tabraiz Shamsi (3-18), Shoaib Malik (3-16), Imad Wasim (2-34) and left-armer Akif Javed (2-8) did a terrific job to fold Multan Sultans for 101 in the 17th over while chasing a tricky target of 168 on a turning track.

Earlier Tayyab Tahir made a dream PSL debut when he hit a superb 46-ball 65 and Matthew Wade made a 47-ball 46 to guide Kings to 167-3.

This was the second win from Kings from six matches while this was the second loss for Multan from six games and they still lead the table with eight points.

Set to score a seemingly tricky target of 168 because of the difficult nature of the wicket Multan Sultans had a positive start. However left-arm young pacer Akif Javed gave a much-needed breakthrough to Kings when he had Shan Masood who edged a ball which lifted nastily from the perfect area to keeper Matthew Wade. The on-field umpire did not raise his finger but the review confirmed that the ball had kissed the left-hander’s blade.

Shan struck 16-ball 25 with four fours and added 41 for the first wicket with Rizwan.

Shoaib Malik then bowled Rilee Rossouw (7) with a superb delivery. It landed in the area, spun away of the left-hander who had no idea before it crashed the stumps. Soon afterwards left-arm wrist-spinner Tabraiz Shamsi got rid of David Miller (7) to leave Multan struggling at 68-3 in the tenth over. In the next over Shoaib Malik got the major wicket of Mohammad Rizwan to put Multan on the back foot. It was a delivery that pitched on the off-stump, Rizwan wanted to turn it towards onside, it got a leading edge with Tayyab Tahir taking a diving catch at point.

Rizwan struck three fours in his 25-ball 29. Tabraiz then removed Khushdil Shah (4) and Usama Mir (10) to guide his side to victory. Imad then bowled Carlos Brathwaite (1) and Akeal Hosein (2), Akif removed Anwar Ali (12) and Shoaib Malik got rid of Abbas Afridi (2) to fold Multan’s innings.

At one stage Multan were 70-4 and they lost their last six wickets inside 31 runs.

Earlier, Tayyab Tahir made a dream PSL debut when he smacked a fine 65 to guide Kings to a seemingly good total in the end.

The Gujjar Khan-born 29-year old, who topped Pakistan Cup with 573 runs in 12 matches last month, played some cracking strokes. He brought in his fifty off 33 balls and smacked eight fours and one six in his excellent knock.

Tayyab, who was trapped lbw off Ihsanullah with a yorker-length delivery, added 109 runs for the second wicket stand with Australian left-hander Matthew Wade who was also bowled by Ihsanullah for a patient 47-ball 46, striking four fours.

Skipper Imad Wasim, in the end, struck a six-ball 14 not out with one six and one four while Shoaib Malik, dropped on three, remained not out on a nine-ball ten.

Earlier James Vince looked dangerous in the start but Anwar Ali removed him in the third over for a 12-ball 27, striking two sixes and three fours.

Kings were 52-1 in the powerplay. They brought in their hundred in the 12th over and their 150 came in the 19th over. Kings scored just 37 in the final five overs despite having wickets in hand.

Ihsanullah, as usual, proved to be very impressive as he captured 2-22 in four overs, stretching his tally to 14 in the event at the summit. He contained the batsmen quite well in the death overs.

He was ably backed by Anwar Ali who picked 1-28 in his quota of four overs.

West Indies left-arm spinner Akeal Hosein, who opened the bowling for Multan, remained more expensive as he conceded 36 runs in just three overs.

Tabraiz Shamsi was adjudged as man of the match.

Multan made two changes by bringing in Anwar Ali and Akeal Hosein in place of Mohammad Ilyas and Keiron Pollard who will return from the West Indies in a few days. Kings made three changes by inducting Mohammad Musa, Tayyab Tahir and Tabraiz Shamsi in place of Mohammad Umar, Haider Ali and Imran Tahir.







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *