Iftikhar, Abbas, Rameez sizzle on President’s Trophy first day

By our correspondent
KARACHI: The President’s Trophy Grade-I 2023-24 kicked off at three venues in Karachi. Six departmental sides locked horns on the first day of the first round. SNGPL, SBP and WAPDA hit the ground running in their respective matches as they put on strong performances. SBP’s Mohammad Abbas and WAPDA’s Iftikhar Ahmed were in sizzling form as Abbas bagged a six-wicket haul while Iftikhar registered a ton. Iftikhar’s teammate 24-year-old Mohammad Saleem also struck his maiden first-class century. The first innings were restricted to 80 overs for each team as per the tournament rules.

SNGPL vs Ghani Glass at National Bank Stadium, Karachi

After winning the toss, Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL) managed a total of 371-7 in the stipulated 80 overs in the first innings as the top four batters returned with half-centuries. Opening batters, Abid Ali (90, 163b, 13x4s) and Sahibzada Farhan (67, 70b, 9x4s, 1×6) put on an opening partnership of 125 runs. Omair Bin Yousuf (56, 83b, 5x4s, 1×6) and Asad Shafiq (81, 85b, 9x4s, 1×6) kept the scoreboard ticking.

Leg-spinner Mohammad Rameez Jnr bagged six wickets for 130 runs in his 24 overs. Ahad Malik was the other successful bowler for Ghani Glass as he struck once to remove Bilawal Bhatti.

Ghani Glass will begin the second day with opening batters Farhan Sarfraz and Shahbaz Javed on the crease having faced three overs, without scoring any runs, before the close of play on day one.

PTV vs State Bank of Pakistan at SBP Sports Complex, Karachi

At the SBP Sports Complex, Pakistan Television (PTV) were bundled out for a paltry 66 in the first session with just two batters managing to get into double figures. Mohammad Abbas wreaked havoc on his way to his 44th five-wicket haul in first-class cricket. He returned with figures 6-19.

His fellow fast bowlers, Sameen Gul and Mohammad Ilyas, played the supporting roles; Sameen picked up three and Ilyas took one scalp. In reply, SBP notched 201 runs for one wicket till the close of play. 32-year-old Zain Abbas (109 not out, 154b, 13x4s, 3x6s) struck his 10th first-class hundred. Veteran batter Umar Amin chipped in with an unbeaten 64 as the duo stitched a 159-run unbeaten partnership. SBP will start day two proceedings with 34 overs left in their first innings and nine wickets in the bag. Jahandad Khan managed the solitary SBPwicket.

KRL vs WAPDA at UBL Sports Complex, Karachi

Khan Research Laboratories’ (KRL) decision to bat first backfired as WAPDA batters put up a huge first innings total. KRL bowlers struggled to stop the run flow after Mohammad Imran struck early. 13th first-class ton for Iftikhar Ahmed (155, 180b, 15x4s, 4x6s) and maiden first-class ton for Mohammad Saleem meant (117, 221b, 12x4s) that WAPDA notched 322-6 in the allotted 80 overs. Imran bagged three wickets in total while Kashif Ali, Mohammad Amir Khan and Shayan Sheikh managed one each.

KRL will start day two at 23-0 as opening batters Abdul Faseeh (12 not out, 22b, 2x4s) and Imran Dogar (10 not out, 27b, 1×4) cautiously saw off the eight overs at close of play on day one.

Scores in brief:

SNGPL won the toss and elected to bat first against Ghani Glass at National Bank Stadium, Karachi

SNGPL 371-7, 80 overs (Abid Ali 90, Asad Shafiq 81, Sahibzada Farhan 67, Omair Bin Yousuf 56; Mohammad Rameez Jnr 6-130, Ahad Malik 1-52)

Ghani Glass 0-0, 3 overs

PTV won the toss and elected to bat first against SBP at SBP Sports Complex, Karachi

PTV 66 all out, 26.2 overs (Uzair Mumtaz 21, Hamayun Altaf 11; Mohammad Abbas 6-19, Sameen Gul 3-18, Mohammad Ilyas 1-27)

SBP 201-1, 46 overs (Zain Abbas 109 not out, Umar Amin 64 not out,; Jahandad Khan 1-47)

KRL won the toss and elected to bowl first against WAPDA at UBL Sports Complex, Karachi

WAPDA 322-6, 80 overs (Iftikhar Ahmed 155, Mohammad Saleem 117; Mohammad Imran 3-75, Kashif Ali 1-45, Mohammad Amir Khan 1-61, Shayan Sheikh 1-78)

KRL 23-0, 8 overs (Abdul Fasih 12 not out, Imran Dogar 10 not out)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *