Awais, Saeed, Uzair hit maiden tons in President’s Trophy

By our correspondent
KARACHI: The second round of President’s Trophy Grade-I kicked off at three venues – National Bank Stadium, State Bank Stadium and UBL Sports Complex – in Karachi. Higher Education Commission (HEC), playing their first game of the tournament, had a good day in the field. Khan Research Laboratories (KRL) and Pakistan Television (PTV) batters had successful outings too. HEC’s Awais Zafar, Ghani Glass’ Saeed Malik and PTV’s Uzair Mumtaz struck their maiden first-class centuries while SNGPL’s Arif Yaqoob impressed with the ball on his first-class debut.

HEC vs WAPDA at National Bank Stadium, Karachi

Water and Power Development Authority (WAPDA) trail by 272 runs with nine wickets left as stumps were called on day one. Umar Akmal (17 not out, 2x4s, 1×6) and Hassan Abid Kiyani (26 not out, 49b, 5x4s) will be on the crease for WAPDA at the beginning of day two. HEC’s Mohammad Azab removed Mohammad Saleem for 10.

Earlier, HEC notched a total of 327-7 in the allotted 80 overs after winning the toss and electing to bat first. 23-year-old Awais Zafar (178 not out, 210b, 15x4s, 6x6s) scored his maiden first-class ton after he walked into bat at 46-2.. Mohammad Mohsin Khan (43, 69b, 4x4s, 1×6) put on a valuable fifth-wicket 78-run partnership with Awais.. Ghazi Ghori (19, 78b, 1×4) and Mohammad Junaid (16, 27b, 1×4) also contributed with the bat in the lower order to help their team cross the 300-run mark.

WAPDA skipper Iftikhar Ahmed bagged three wickets while left-arm pacer Irfanullah Shah returned with two.. Naqeeb Masood and Asif Afridi picked up one wicket each.

KRL vs Ghani Glass at State Bank Stadium, Karachi

. Khan Research Laboratories (KRL) won the toss and elected to bowl first. They had reduced Ghani Glass to 107-5until Saeed Malik (105 not out, 123b, 8x4s, 3x6s) struck an unbeaten ton batting at number seven. He was assisted by wicketkeeper-batter Shahbaz Javed (74, 71b, 6x4s, 3x6s) who struck a fine half-century. Consequently, Ghani Glass posted a massive total of 363-7 in their first innings

Kashif Ali struck thrice in the 22 overs he sent down. Arshadullah dismissed opening batter Mohsin Riaz (41, 102b, 2x4s, 1×6) and skipper Hussain Talat (23, 37b, 2x4s, 2x6s). Sirajuddin and Shayan Sheikh picked up one wicket each.

KRL openers faced just one over before the close of play as Abdul Faseeh (8 not out, 6b) and Waqar Ahmed stayed unbeaten with eight runs on the board.

PTV vs SNGPL at UBL Sports Complex, Karachi

Pakistan Television (PTV) banked on their decision to bat first and put up 317 runs before they were dismissed in the final over of the first innings. Skipper Uzair Mumtaz had walked in with scorecard reading 23-2. He steered the PTV innings with a magnificent knock of 108 off 130 comprising 15 boundaries. Hasan Mohsin (59, 103b, 5x4s, 1×6) and Ahmed Safi Abdullah (46, 69b, 6x4s, 1×6) put on a vital 75-run partnership for the eighth wicket to steer PTV past the 300-run mark.

SNGPL leg-spinner Arif Yaqoob impressed with a four-wicket haul on his first-class debut. Mohammad Awais Anwar picked up three wickets while Mohammad Ali, Mubasir Khan and Bilawal Bhatti returned with one each.

SNGPL openers, Sahibzada Farhan (13 not out, 20b, 3x4s) and Abid Ali (7 not out, 24b) saw off 7.2 overs, putting 20 runs on the board, before umpires called the day off..

Scores in brief:

HEC vs WAPDA at National Bank Stadium

HEC 327-7, 80 overs (Awais Zafar 178 not out, Mohammad Mohsin Khan 43, Jahanzaib Sultan 20; Iftikhar Ahmed 3-88, Irfanullah Shah 2-67, Naqeebullah Masood 1-61, Asif Afridi 1-83)

WAPDA 55-1, 15 overs, (Hassan Abid Kiyani 26 not out, Umar Akmal 17 not out, Mohammad Saleem 10; Mohammad Azab 1-12)

KRL vs Ghani Glass at State Bank Stadium

Ghani Glass 363-7, 80 overs (Saeed Malik 105 not out, Shahbaz Javed 74, Saad Nasim 58; Kashif Ali 3-61, Arshadullah 2-117, Sirajuddin 1-35, Shayan Sheikh 1-93)

KRL 8-0, 1 over (Abdul Faseeh 8 not out)

PTV vs SNGPL at UBL Sports Complex

PTV 317 all out, 79.2 overs (Uzair Mumtaz 108, Hasan Mohsin 59, Ahmed Safi Abdullah 46; Arif Yaqoob 4-97, Mohammad Awais Anwar 3-47, Bilawal Bhatti 1-31, Mohammad Ali 1-50, Mubasir Khan 1-73)

SNGPL 20-0, 7.2 overs (Sahibzada Farhan 13 not out, Abid Ali 7 not out)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *