PPFL to begin from August 14 in Multan

Our Web Desk

LAHORE: : The Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) plans to start the Pakistan Premier Football League (PPFL) from August 14 at Multan.
Rawalpindi, Quetta and Karachi are the other centres for the country’s top-tier league which will carry 12 teams. KRL, the most successful outfit with five titles, will defend the crown. Army, Sui Southern Gas Company (SSGC), Pakistan Air Force (PAF), PCCA, Muslim FC, Navy, WAPDA, Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL), Quetta’s Baloch FC, Karachi United and Islamabad’s Huma Club are the other teams which will be part of the marathon.

Baloch FC, Karachi United and Huma Club will make their debut. The league will miss former winners K-Electric as the outfit has been disbanded which has made many players jobless. One of the key clubs Chaman’s Afghan FC have refused to participate.
Masha United, who promoted to the top-tier event, have also decided not to take part in an event which in their opinion is illegal and is not recognised by FIFA.
During the last six years Pakistan missed several leagues due to legal wrangling among various factions which have inflicted an unprecedented damage on the country’s football.
The league, organised in 2018-2019, had been partly organised by Faisal-led former FIFA-recognised PFF and Ashfaq Hussain Shah-led PFF which had come into existence as a result of the elections conducted under the orders of the apex court.

scroll to top