Rawalakot Hawks annexed KPL title

Our Web Desk

MUZAFFARABAD: Rawalakot Hawks did well in all departments to emerge as champions of the inaugural edition of the Kashmir Premier League (KPL) when they downed Muzaffarabad Tigers by seven runs here on Tuesday.

Chasing 170, Muzaffarabad Tigers were restricted to 162-9 in the allotted 20 overs. Opener Zeeshan Ashraf top-scored with a 26-ball 46, smacking four sixes and the same number of fours. He added 54 runs in 34 balls for the opening stand with his skipper Mohammad Hafeez who belted a 21-ball 29 with six fours. Mohammad Waseem Junior fell for a fiery 12-ball 22, having hit two sixes and one four. Sohail Tanvir made a 20-ball 21 with two fours.

Hussain Talat (3-18) and left-arm spinner Asif Afridi (3-22) bowled really well. Shahid Afridi got 2-32 in his quota of four overs.

Earlier, Kashif Ali once again batted extremely well as the Kashmir-born Essex 2nd XI player belted a 28-ball 54 with three sixes and five fours to enable Rawalakot Hawks to pile up 169-7. Bismillah Khan made 19-ball 30, Sahibzada Farhan scored 21-ball 28 and Umar Amin made run-a-ball 23. Mohammad Hafeez got 2-26 while Usama Mir picked 2-25.

Asif Afridi was adjudged as man of the match who also bowled a very tight final over.

scroll to top