Pretorius’ record figures help South Africa level series, Rizwan hits fifty, Faheem smacks rapid 30*

From our correspondent
LAHORE: Dwaine Pretorius produced the best figures in South Africa’s T20 Internationals history as the visitors defeated Pakistan by six wickets in the second T20 game to level the series here at the Gaddafi Stadium on Saturday.
Pretorius (5-17) beat Ryan McLauren’s 5-19 as South Africa restricted Pakistan to 144-7 with Mohammad Rizwan scoring 51.
South Africa then raced to the target in the 17th over after losing four wickets. Reeza Hendricks (42) and Pite van Biljon (42) shared 77 runs for the third wicket stand to set up a fine win for the visitors who lost the Test series 2-0.
After being invited for the second time Mohammad Rizwan (51) once again remained impressive with the bat, completing his fifty off 39 balls.
Rizwan became the first Pakistani batsman to have scored three successive fifties in T20.
He hit six fours and one six in his 41-ball knock before falling prey to Pretorius slower one which he holed to long-on where Phehlukwayo took an easy catch.
As the other Pakistani batsmen failed to leave any big impact Faheem Ashraf in the end did a great job by hammering two sixes and two fours in his rapid 12-ball 30 not out.
Iftikhar made 21-ball 20.
South Africa’s left-arm spinner Tabraiz Shamsi (1-16 in 4) bowled well as he bowled ten dot balls and did not concede any boundary.
Chasing a relatively easy target the visitors lost two early wickets. However Hendricks and Biljon put South Africa on winning track with a solid stand for the third wicket.
Hendricks struck three sixes and three fours in his 30-ball 42 while Biljon smacked three fours and two sixes in his 32-ball 42.
And David Miller (25) and Klaasen (17) then completed the victory with a 40-run unbeaten seventh wicket stand.
Miller hit two fours and one six from 19 balls while Klaasen struck three fours in his poductive nine-ball knock.
Shaheen Afridi got 2-18 in three overs while Mohammad Nawaz (1-27 in 4) and Usman Qadir (1-43 in 4) were the other wicket-takers.
Dwaine Pretorius was declared as man of the match for his destructive bowling.
The third and final match will be held tomorrow (Sunday) at the same venue.

scroll to top